Today, death metal titans Shed the Skin premiere the new track “Serpentspawn Upheaval” at Decibel magazine’s website. The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated second album, We of Scorn, set for international release on July 27th via Hells Headbangers. Hear Shed the Skin‘s “Serpentspawn Upheaval” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

It’s been only two years since Shed the Skin‘s critically acclaimed debut album for Hells HeadbangersHarrowing Faith, but the Cleveland quartet have not been sitting idly by. Shows have been played, new songs have been written, and the well-oiled machine that is Shed the Skin has but only become more powerful. Of course, that “well-oiled machine” still includes a number of considerable scene veterans: Kyle Severn of Incantation on drums, Matt Sorg of Ringworm and Blood of Christ on guitars, Ash Thomas of Faithxtractor and Vladimirs on vocals and guitar, and Ed Stephens from Vindicator on bass. With all that combined experience, it’s no surprise that Harrowing Faith sounded as massive as it does – but the follow-up is even more massive.

Ominously titled We of Scorn, Shed the Skin‘s second album sees the quartet expanding their arsenal whilst holding true to their signature sound. Proudly and purely DEATH METAL within and without, Shed the Skin once again shed easy categorization, sounding neither 100% “old school” nor new, American or Scandinavian, disgusting or melodic, blast-intensive or thrashing. Instead, they shred all that into a blender and proceed to unleash a torrent of twisting and infinitely interesting creations. Shed the Skin always focus their death metal on the art of the song, and here on We of Scorn, those 10 songs immediately grasp their talons into the listener…and never let go. You are but at their mercy as these near-anthems charge forward and crush all under cloven hoof. And once again, the production is absolutely crushing – but, further highlighting the more melodic contours of these new songs, We of Scorn‘s production possesses a clarity that sacrifices none of its overt (and overwhelming) heaviness.

Old dogs don’t need to learn new tricks; they can simply do the tricks they already know even better. Reacquaint yourself with Shed the Skin and become We of Scorn! Continue that reacquaintance exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal magazine. Begin that reaquaintance with the album’s title track HERE at Hells Headbangers‘ Bandcamp, where the album can also be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Shed the Skin’s We of Scorn
1. From Tortured Realms
2. We Of Scorn
3. Trepanning Sanity
4. Tetrarchy Pact
5. Legion Of The Scorpion
6. Luminous Transgression
7. Serpentspawn Upheaval
8. A Stone Awoke The Titans
9. Remonstrating The Preserver
10. Forever

About The Author


Raymond Melendez is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief for Local San Diego Metal website Besides Heavy Metal music, Raymond is also a movie buff and Craft Beer enthusiast. Which is why he is also the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Popular Movie Review website '' and Co-Founder of Craft Beer website ''.

Related Posts

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x