SONATA ARCTICA To Release 'Talviyö' Album In September


On September 6, Finnish melodic metal titans SONATA ARCTICA will release their tenth studio album, called “Talviyö” (which means “Winter Night”), including eleven new tracks.

“We were talking about having an album cover made from a photo and luckily managed to find this award-winning photographer Onni Wiljami who actually hails from a village not too far from our hometown and his pictures were just perfect for this album,” explains keyboardist Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg.

“The idea was to create an album that is musically in line with at least the previous two albums,” says vocalist Tony Kakko and adds: “I am very happy with the songs and the general mood of the album. Some career highlights there, I feel.”

“We recorded a bunch of kick-ass songs and tried some new stuff as well. I’m really proud of how we managed to record the band sounding more live, playing together instead of just tracking everything one by one”, states Klingenberg.

The official lyric video for the album’s first single, “A Little Less Understanding”, can be seen below.

“The song is lyrically somewhat a follow up for ‘I Have A Right’ and talks about the difficulty of making the right choices with the upbringing of a new human being”, explains Kakko.

“Talviyö” was recorded between September 2018 and May 2019, produced by Mikko Tegelman and SONATA ARCTICA in Studio57. Additional recordings took place in various other places. The mixing was done by Mikko Tegelman and Pasi Kauppinen and the mastering was handled by Svante Forsbäck for Chartmakers.

Mikko produced the album and he really managed to push us to do our best, even with the more experimental stuff,” says Klingenberg. “Working with an outside producer was the biggest new thing we tried this time.”

Source: Blabbermouth

Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment